Job Search Mantra – ‘Keep the Faith’

A colleague of mine (Carla) just told me that she landed an incredibly exciting executive position. Now that things are looking up, it’s easier to talk about the long road to get here.

Carla has been actively engaged in a job search for almost two years. Yep – two years. In the past eight months, she was a finalist for four different positions and they all fell through. One fell through AFTER they had made an offer – the economy slid and they put things on hold. Talk about discouraging.

Carla has had many ups and downs during the past several months. She is a dynamic, intelligent, sharp and highly experienced woman who was finding her spirit and self esteem going through harsh and (what seemed to be) bottomless pits.

Now that she has landed a key leadership role with an exciting and solid firm, she can look more objectively at the process. Hindsight is always 20/20.

She said two very important things that I want to share with you.

1)”The most important thing I learned through this is that one MUST keep optimism alive in whatever way one can. It’s easy to get caught in a mind game and think doom and gloom. Share your fears with your trusted friends and keep the faith outwardly if you can. It makes a huge difference in how you come across. As compassionate as many people might be; no one wants to hire a gloomy or negative person.”

2)”I’m so glad I maintained my authenticity along the way. I fought against the tendency to try to be all things to all people. I let people see my true personality and know who I really was. Some people were uncomfortable with that, but now that I landed in the right place, it was worth the discomfort. I can’t believe I’m saying this, but it was worth the long months of agony. Now I have an incredible opportunity in front of me, and I’m grateful.”

These are tough times. A job search can be very discouraging even in a thriving economy, but in these times it can be downright depressing. Stick with it. Push ahead. Organizations are still looking for good people.

By the way, Carla was offered a salary that is more than double what she was willing to accept in her more vulnerable moments. She deserves every penny and more.

As Tavis Smiley would say, ‘Keep the faith’.

3 Responses

  1. A very inspiring blog. I’m going thru the search process myself and its heart warming to see someone succeed and overcome such an emotional roller coaster. Congrats to Carla for her perserverance and for having such a wonderful friend and mentor in Terry!

  2. Thanks for these ideas. No matter what type of work one does, it is usually a very tough journey to be on a job search. It is discouraging sometimes, no matter how successful one’s career has been.

    The most important message for us all to remember is that life changes all the time. We don’t know what’s around the corner, and there is always hope for something new and exciting to present itself to us.

  3. I plan to keep this in my favorites. I went on maternity leave last year earlier than expected, and have been actively looking for only a short while. Still, I’m worn through from the months of financial difficulty that came prior. I have to remember that I’ve only just started my search, and it may go on a while longer, but if I take Carla’s advice, I’ll come out fine. I have to have faith that I’m waiting for that RIGHT job, the one that will be the one I need, while allowing me to keep abreast of my health situation, and the responsibilites I have as a new mother. Thanks for this blog.

Leave a Reply

